Topic: book

Sort: Date | Title | Sort Ascending
View:

The hidden art of fore-edge painting

The painting is there, but you might not see it... hidden along the edges of pages. "It's a discreet painting. It's only there if you know how to unlock it." In this Great Big Story video, artist Martin Frost shows ho...

The Temple of Knowledge and what it’s like to grow up in a library

Ronald Clark’s father was custodian of a branch of the New York Public Library at a time when caretakers, along with their families, lived in the buildings. With his daughter, Jamilah, Ronald remembers literally growi...

This Book is a Planetarium by Kelli Anderson

How can a book illuminate constellations, play music, and create spirograph drawings? This stop-motion promo video for the pop-up book This Book is a Planetarium demonstrates how... and introduces a few scientific con...

Wet Book Rescue: How to repair a wet, damaged book

How can you save your book from ruin if you've spilled water on it or dropped it in a puddle? This easy-to-follow tutorial from the preservation experts at Syracuse University Libraries can help you rescue your wet bo...

Marta Minujín’s ‘Parthenon’ of Banned Books in Kassel

In Kassel, Germany, at the very site where Nazis once burned over 2,000 books by Jewish and Marxist writers, one artist has built a colossal tribute to free speech. The “Parthenon of Books” is a giant temporary replic...

The evolution of the book

What makes a book a book? Is it just anything that stores and communicates information? Or does it have to do with paper, binding, font, ink, its weight in your hands, the smell of the pages? To answer these questions...

What’s the fastest way to alphabetize your bookshelf?

You work at the college library. You’re in the middle of a quiet afternoon when suddenly, a shipment of 1,280 books arrives. The books are in a straight line, but they're all out of order, and the automatic sorting sy...

How a mathematician dissects an astonishing coincidence

True story about an adventure that befell Anne Parrish one June day in Paris. She was wandering through the old book stalls along the Seine with her husband who had been there before. He sat down at a table on the qua...

Engineering the Perfect Pop

Using scissors, tape, and reams of creativity, Matthew Reinhart engineers paper to bend, fold, and transform into fantastic creatures, structures and locales. By adjusting the angles of folds and the depth of layers, ...

Tauba Auerbach’s massive pop-up book paper sculptures

Filmed for Nowness, this is Tauba Auerbach's massive book project with New York's Printed Matter bookstore: A series of six die-cut paper structures that pop-up into three dimensional sculptures. The tome is titled 2,...

How to make a simple origami triangle bookmark

If you don’t want to rip a scrap of paper off of an old piece of homework, or if you can’t find that bookmark you had from your local bookstore, try this simple and 'friendly' origami triangle bookmark, which fits on ...

Odd – Mysteries of Vernacular

Odd. Odd. Say it a few times, and the word 'odd' sounds odd. Peculiar. Different from what is usual or expected. Of course, we also know that odd numbers can't be divided evenly into two groups. But where did this odd...

Marion Deuchars’ Let’s Make some Great Fingerprint Art

Not only do we love this short promo by Animade.tv for Marion Deuchars' book Let's Make Some Great Fingerprint Art, but we like the book, too. In the tradition of Ed Emberley, Deuchars inspires kids (and adults) to in...

Ukulele – Mysteries of Vernacular

How did a small four-string guitar that was not invented in Hawaii end up with a Hawaiian name that means Jumping Flea? Let's go back to the 19th century when Portuguese travelers brought a braguinha to Hawaii. Jessic...

The art of making a book: Setting type, printing, & binding by hand

Before machines automated the process of printing and binding books, but after books were made with handwritten pages or large, hand-carved wood blocks, books were typeset with small metal pieces, printed, and bound/s...

The Dot & the Line: A Romance in Lower Mathematics (1965)

Winner of the Academy Award for Animated Short Film in 1965, and adapted from the celebrated book by Norton Juster, best-known for Phantom Tollbooth, this is The Dot and the Line: A Romance in Lower Mathematics. Th...

Pants – Mysteries of Vernacular

Where does the word 'pants' come from? The journey of this word throughout history begins with the 4th Century Roman Saint Pantaleon and is now used to refer to any clothing with two separate tubes that are meant to c...

Making a Case for Books – Frank Howarth

The animated story of how four bookcases were made in Frank Howarth's workshop: Making a Case for Books.

« Prev


 
Not finding what you're looking for? A few suggestions:
• Fewer words might give better results. Look up cats instead of funny cats.
• No need to search with the words videos or for kids included.
• Use related words: If searching for iceberg isn't working, try ice or glacier.
• Is everything spelled correctly?
• Browsing topics might help, too!