Topic: book

Sort: Date | Title | Sort Ascending
View:

Tauba Auerbach’s massive pop-up book paper sculptures

Filmed for Nowness, this is Tauba Auerbach's massive book project with New York's Printed Matter bookstore: A series of six die-cut paper structures that pop-up into three dimensional sculptures. The tome is titled 2,...

How to make a simple origami triangle bookmark

If you don’t want to rip a scrap of paper off of an old piece of homework, or if you can’t find that bookmark you had from your local bookstore, try this simple and 'friendly' origami triangle bookmark, which fits on ...

Odd – Mysteries of Vernacular

Odd. Odd. Say it a few times, and the word 'odd' sounds odd. Peculiar. Different from what is usual or expected. Of course, we also know that odd numbers can't be divided evenly into two groups. But where did this odd...

Marion Deuchars’ Let’s Make some Great Fingerprint Art

Not only do we love this short promo by Animade.tv for Marion Deuchars' book Let's Make Some Great Fingerprint Art, but we like the book, too. In the tradition of Ed Emberley, Deuchars inspires kids (and adults) to in...

Ukulele – Mysteries of Vernacular

How did a small four-string guitar that was not invented in Hawaii end up with a Hawaiian name that means Jumping Flea? Let's go back to the 19th century when Portuguese travelers brought a braguinha to Hawaii. Jessic...

The art of making a book: Setting type, printing, & binding by hand

Before machines automated the process of printing and binding books, but after books were made with handwritten pages or large, hand-carved wood blocks, books were typeset with small metal pieces, printed, and bound/s...

The Dot & the Line: A Romance in Lower Mathematics (1965)

Winner of the Academy Award for Animated Short Film in 1965, and adapted from the celebrated book by Norton Juster, best-known for Phantom Tollbooth, this is The Dot and the Line: A Romance in Lower Mathematics. Th...

Pants – Mysteries of Vernacular

Where does the word 'pants' come from? The journey of this word throughout history begins with the 4th Century Roman Saint Pantaleon and is now used to refer to any clothing with two separate tubes that are meant to c...

Frank Howarth: Making a Case for Books

The animated story of how four bookcases were made in Frank Howarth's workshop: Making a Case for Books.

Rainbow in Your Hand by Masashi Kawamura

This is Masashi Kawamura's Rainbow in Your Hand. In the archives: more flipbooks.

The Pangaea Pop-up – TED Ed

This papercraft pop-up book illustrates how South America and Africa used to be connected, how the supercontinent Pangaea broke apart 200 million years ago, how the Earth's seven primary tecto...

Robot – Mysteries of vernacular

Where did the word robot come from? Let’s travel back to 1920, when Czech writer Karel Čapek wrote a sci-fi play about hard-working, human-like machines. Wait, first let’s go back farther: more than 1000 y...

Book Domino Chain World Record at the Seattle Public Library

Two college student designers (Luke Greenway and Laura D’Asaro), 27 volunteers, seven hours of work, five attempts, and 2,131 books mixed together at the Seattle Public Library to create the longest book domino chain...

French illustrator Alain Grée drawing

Watch French illustrator Alain Grée draw a boy and his turtle. You can also watch him draw a girl and her dog, and explain his illustration process (in French):  Most prolific in the 1960s and 70s, Grée has publish...

Todd McLellan: Disassembled / Things Come Apart

Photographer Todd McLellan has been on my mind ever since I saw this post on making an Inventor’s Box: a collection of tools and second-hand electronics for kids to disassemble, organiz...

Oliver Jeffers, butcher, baker, picture book maker

Author of so many lovely children’s books, including Lost and Found, The Heart and The Bottle, How to Catch a Star, and our favorite, The Incredible Book Eating Boy... This is Oliver Jeffers, butcher...

Irving Harper: Works in Paper

Paper doesn’t require any special equipment—“All you have to do is sit down, cut paper out, and score it, bend it, and glue it.”  A beautiful Herman Miller interview with designer (and paper engineer/ artist/ sc...

Revolution ( Life Cycle of a Drop of Water)

Revolution is an animated short by photographer Chris Turner, paper engineer Helen Friel and animator Jess Deacon that explores the life cycle of a single drop of water through the pages of an elaborate pop-up book....

« Prev