Topic: drawing

Sort: Date | Title | Sort Ascending
View:

Making art with everyday objects: Christoph Niemann

Award-winning artist and author Christoph Niemann has quite a few books and apps for kids of all ages -- I Lego N.Y., Words, as well as Petting Zoo and Chomp. In this Quartz video, he shares examples from his new book...

A Sketchy History Of Pencil Lead

When fifth-graders at Green Acres Elementary in Lebanon, Oregon asked the NPR Skunk Bear team how pencil lead was made, they looked into it... way into it. From the start of the universe (with a shout out to Carl Saga...

JK Brickworks’ LEGO Drawing Machine

LEGO enthusiast Jason Allemann of JK Brickworks created a simple spirograph style LEGO drawing machine that can draw five patterns. Made with just under 100 pieces, it consists of a turntable, an armature, two anchors...

Laika’s Head of Puppetry explains how stop motion puppets are made

Go behind the scenes with Puppet Fabrication Creative Supervisor Georgina Hayns -- who set up the puppet department at Laika, the animation studio behind Coraline, The Boxtrolls, and Kubo and the Two Strings -- to fin...

Illustrating the Cornell Lab of Ornithology’s Wall of Birds

In 2014, artist Jane Kim was commissioned to paint a mural of 270 representative bird species -- including some extinct species, a few dinosaurs, and a black caiman -- on 3,000 square feet (280 square meters) of wall ...

A dancer animated with 1,250 small paintings

Watch 1,250 paintings on paper come together to create a 'handmade' animated music video for Ralf Hildenbeutel by Berlin-based director Boris Seewald: Disco. Watch more ballet, more dance, more drawings, and more m...

Howard Lee’s hyperrealistic drawing illusions

Turning hyperrealism into a video guessing game, illustrator and illusionist of sorts Howard Lee draws objects on paper that attempt to reach photographic levels of detail. Above, his Drawing Trick with Marbles. B...

How to paint with ice skates, a light painting beginner’s guide

This tutorial for light painting is a great introduction for how long exposure photographs capture motion, and change the amount of light in an image. At-Bristol Science Centre's Heather Nichol explains how to modify ...

A time lapse of Sol LeWitt’s Wall Drawing 797

How does one person's actions influence the next person's actions in a shared space? Sol LeWitt's wall drawings explore this intricate visual butterfly effect in the collaborative art entitled Wall Drawing 797, a conc...

Totoro & Catbus pancake art by Random Breakfasts

Find weekend pancake inspiration in the three-batter-colored illustration work of Kevin Blankenship, a cartoonist and dad who runs the pancake flip-worthy RandomBreakfasts Tumblr. Above, Totoro pancake art, and below:...

Step into the Page – Disney animator Glen Keane draws in VR

This is what it's like to draw in virtual reality (VR) -- immersive 3D simulations driven by stereoscopic headsets, additional handheld controls, and a wide range of newly invented software. With VR, not only can you ...

The jazz of a helium ball & charcoal – Karina Smigla-Bobinski’s ADA

A transparent plastic ball filled with helium floats in an all white room. Attached are 300 charcoal sticks that make the ball look a bit like a flu germ, a "a post-industrial creature" that awaits interaction with an...

Toy Dinosaur Figurine – How It’s Made

From the Science Channel's How It's Made tv show, watch how artisans create detailed toy figurines: from drawings, to computer software, to 3D printed and hand-carved sculptures, to the casting of silicone, plaster, a...

Colossus – A time lapse ink drawing of New York City’s skyline

London-based illustrator Patrick Vale builds New York City's impressive skyline in less than three minutes -- line by line, window by window -- in this lovely time lapse video that captures four weeks of his work. The...

Marion Deuchars’ Let’s Make some Great Fingerprint Art

Not only do we love this short promo by Animade.tv for Marion Deuchars' book Let's Make Some Great Fingerprint Art, but we like the book, too. In the tradition of Ed Emberley, Deuchars inspires kids (and adults) to in...

Sesame Street: What is Dance?

What is Dance? Hear kids answer this question from their own experiences as these charming illustrations and cut paper characters shake, wiggle, leap, boogie, hula, and play. We love animation styles that hearken ...

Osvaldo Cavandoli’s La Linea

Thanks to a live-action hand and an animated white line, this cantankerous silhouette first appeared in Italy in 1970, becoming an internationally-known cult classic. La Linea is a 90 episode series by Italian cartoon...

The Red Thread (赤い糸): A single line tells a story

Activities and adventures, pulling apart, coming together, the joys of childhood: In Kazuhiko Okushita's 2010 short titled Red Thread (赤い糸), an animated line stretches and curls from scene to scene, visualizing mom...

« Prev